Edwards Bass trombone question

MKtuba

Edwards Bass trombone question

Post by MKtuba »

Within the next year or two I will be buying a bass trombone. I am an undergraduate Tuba Performance major looking to go to grad school and get some sort of "low brass doublers" degree (still researching that one. Not entirely sure of my options but I have a few years to decide) and would like to pursue bass trombone as my primary double. I am looking at the Edwards B454-E and have a question.

Those of you who own the neck-pipe that converts the trombone to a single valve bass (or even if you have the one that turns it into a straight bass), do you find yourself ever actually using it? The biggest draw of the Edwards line to me is the modular aspect. While converting to a single valve or straight bass isn't my chief reason for wanting the modular instrument, it would be nice to know how useful that actually is, as it could sway my decision.

This won't be my first bass, so I know some basic things about what I want (I hated the 10.5 inch bell bass that I owned. Definitely won't buy another) but have not gotten to try the edwards lineup.
elmsandr

Re: Edwards Bass trombone question

Post by elmsandr »

I almost never use my single converter. Don’t think it fits any horn I still have. I do use singles, but I prefer the entire separate valve section or a separate horn for that.

Cheers,
Andy
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

Not quite an answer, but I have owned several singles (8 by my count) and I have used them IRL maybe... 4 or 5 times. I don't own any at the moment.
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
Matt K
Verified

Post by Matt K »

I like playing on a single or straight section while I'm practicing for weight reasons. No reason to do flexibilities on rotors if I don't need it!
MTbassbone

Post by MTbassbone »