Discussion on valve types

Brice

Discussion on valve types

Post by Brice »

Hello all, I have been playing all of the low brass instruments for 5 years now. I was primarily a jazz bass trombonist, but am now switching to a small bore for jazz and using my bass trombone for orchestral settings now. My bass trombone is a Besson Sovereign BE943 with hagmann valves and i'm curious as to other peoples preferences when it comes to valves. I can't figure out how to add an image but if you google the model it should come up.
mbtrombone

Re: Discussion on valve types

Post by mbtrombone »

I personally use Axial Flow/Thayer valves in an independent setup. They are very large feeling and blow even through each individually or combined (in the two horns I use).

That being said I just got a Bach 50B2 with standard rotors in a dependent set up. The valves don’t have great compression, but the horn seems to sound pretty good, so maybe I won’t be using Axial valves forever?
hyperbolica

Post by hyperbolica »

You can read the entire internet, but nothing will tell you what to do better than playing a few horns. The easiest choice is probably rotors. They come pretty big these days, and most new wraps are open. Part of your choice should be maintenance. Can you service your own valves?

My take on it is that tenor players like more resistance to make lip slurring easier. Bass players don't lip slur as much, (partials are fewer and further apart) and they often prefer less resistance. I personally prefer rotors for the serviceability. My bass has big-ish rotors (Kanstul).

Hagmans play nice as well. I personally avoid axials, because I'm keyed in to rotors and I'd have to readjust my playing for that valve type. Not interested in relearning how to play at my age.
mbtrombone

Post by mbtrombone »