Piccolo trombone?

day

Piccolo trombone?

Post by day »

I'm an ignorant newbie, know only what I've researched & read thus far (past few days) online, and found this forum. It looks like none of my posts will even make it here until at least 2 are written and approved. My grandson, who turns out to be musically talented, is now playing trombone in school. He doesn't own one, but his teacher (it's a charter school, which might make a difference) is allowing him to use a school-owned one and even let him keep it over the summer, which is normally a no-no. But apparently the teacher trusts him (he's a great kid) enough, plus wanted him to keep practicing.
I'm not sure if I want to buy him a trombone just yet, but last phone call he did say he was really interested in learning piccolo trombone. Before this, he also played tuba and French horn.
I would love to buy him a piccolo trombone, but the only place thus far I've located one is Wessex, which not only wouldn't be available until late January, but it appears it's made in China (?) Does anyone here have any info/advice for me? Thank you!!! (I am an amateur musician myself, but never played brass.)
BGuttman

Re: Piccolo trombone?

Post by BGuttman »

Hi and Welcome. You now have your first post. You can put a second post in the topic "Why can't I see my posts" and when I approve it you will have your two.

First, piccolo trombone is a "stunt" instrument. The most common trombone is the tenor. Next most common is the bass trombone, which is a large bore tenor with one or two rotary valves to allow more low notes. Third most common is the alto, which is a smaller version of the tenor; pitched about a fourth higher. Alto trombones are sometimes used as beginner trombones in Scandinavia since they have shorter slides and are better suited for short arms.