Bach 50 BL Bass Trombone??

Shwnniles

Bach 50 BL Bass Trombone??

Post by Shwnniles »

I'm primarily a student, tenor trombone player with some experience on euphonium. The idea of playing bass trombone has been on my mind since high school, but I never really had the chance. I've been looking into bass trombones to possibly buy, learn, and have experience with, and I stumbled across this "Bach Stradivarious 50BL" on eBay. Dual independent rotors, and comes with a back 1 1/2 G and a Schilke mouthpiece. It's in great condition with only a few minor cosmetic issues. It's at about $2000 USD buy it now price. When I saw this I immediately searched for this model of horn and couldn't find a bach Stradivarius 50Bl that was what was shown on the post. I could only find some dependant configuration-type horns. My question is, is this blatantly fake? Or is it an older model that just doesn't pop up on the web as easily as more modern models? thanks! feel free to PM me.
BGuttman

Re: Bach 50 BL Bass Trombone??

Post by BGuttman »

A Bach 50BL would be a single bass with a 10 1/2 " bell. Is that what the auction states?
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

The marking on Bach bells (except some lucky '90s horns) will almost only give a B and some info about the bell, like L for large bell or G for gold bell.

That particular one is a 50B3OL (or 50B3LO... same thing), meaning rotors, open wrap, independent, large bell.

In all honestly, it wouldn't be my first choice for a new doubler. You will find easier and better horns to play for around the same price if you look.

Here's the listing, for those interested:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/124925709829?h ... SwThVhU03Q
Aidan Ritchie, LA area player and teacher
Shwnniles

Post by Shwnniles »

BGuttman wrote: Wed Sep 29, 2021 8:51 pm A Bach 50BL would be a single bass with a 10 1/2 " bell. Is that what the auction states?