Alto Rental

santisaucedo

Alto Rental

Post by santisaucedo »

Hey guys

Beginner here. I've got 2 dedicated years on Tenor as an adult about 3 more if you count my high school days many years ago.

I've grown a little curious about Alto Trombones. I've seen some great examples online and noticed a lot of people on this forum use them. I think it would be fun to experiment but I'm definitely not able to commit to a purchase. The money I have would barely buy me a toy.

So I figured, ok I can rent one. The problem is I can't find a place that rents out Altos, just Tenor and Bass.
Does anyone have any advice?
Matt K
Verified

Re: Alto Rental

Post by Matt K »

You may actually be surprised. A rental will run you a few hundred dollars and some of the cheaper altos are actually not all that bad. The JinBao with a replacement leadpipe is popular and new used to go for ~$500. They frequently come up use too. I'm actually aware of 3 that have sold here in the last month or so.

Wessex are also pretty good but they don't make their alto anymore. Same with Weril. Both of those would have to be found on th eused market.

If you do go with one of the imports, I'd recommend buying from a dealer rather than from eBay, personally. Dealerships at least usually do a little due dilligence in making sure you don't get a dud. eBay just ships you whichever one they grab from the back room first.
santisaucedo

Post by santisaucedo »

Thanks Matt. With a little planning, I might be able to swing that. I've had pretty mediocre experiences testing out used trombones in Atlanta. My Yamaha student rental Tenor often sounds and feels better (though heavy).

Besides the used Wessex or Werils is there another maybe new option to consider? My earlier googling pointed me to a $300 "Moz" model but I assumed it would be cheap. Are the Wessex/Werilis definitely better?

Apologies if this is already covered in another thread but the search feature was down.
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »