Keys for self-taught

Aliastar

Keys for self-taught

Post by Aliastar »

I'm a self-taught musician if it's possible to call me a musician. About half a year ago I've started making beats with FL Studio 20. I discovered that I really like composing music and bought MIDI-keyboard, but I understand that I don't have enough piano skills to do my best with MIDI, so I decided to buy a piano. Please, advise me on choosing the right piano, thanks.
p.s. My background is 4 years of guitar, 2 years of flute, 3 months of trombone. Is it possible to learn to play it myself? If you have any resources(youtube channels with music theory or any literature), please feel free to share it here.
Steerpike2

Re: Keys for self-taught

Post by Steerpike2 »

In the UK working, oldish pianos are usually available for free, just have to pay someone to move it and then after it's settled in, someone to tune it.
Aliastar

Post by Aliastar »

Steerpike2 wrote: Wed Aug 12, 2020 2:32 am In the UK working, oldish pianos are usually available for free, just have to pay someone to move it and then after it's settled in, someone to tune it.
Since my last post, I was surfing the internet and ran into weighted keys. What do you think about buying them instead of the piano? I don't have much free place at home and I think it will be better to buy keys then the piano. I've never had keys before, but if I understood right, weighted keys similar to piano.
BGuttman

Post by BGuttman »

A keyboard with 88 full-sized keys should be a decent substitute for a piano. It really depends on the electronics. Some sound good and some sound awful. Weighted keys simulate the action of a piano and you may like it or not. Probably need to try it out first.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
mbtrombone

Post by mbtrombone »