CarolBrass CTB-1005-YSS Bb Soprano Trombone

multiphonic

CarolBrass CTB-1005-YSS Bb Soprano Trombone

Post by multiphonic »

I'm bored during lockdown, so here's a mini-review of the CarolBrass CTB-1005-YSS Bb Soprano Trombone:

About a year ago, I switched from trombone/euphonium to valved as well as natural trumpet in an attempt to keep playing while minimizing impacts on my hearing (hyperacusis + tinnitus) and currently manageable carpal tunnel syndrome in my right hand/wrist. I only play alone with a practice mute (not as sad as it sounds), currently a Wallace Studio mute for trumpet. I'm a recreational musician and play just for fun. Valved trumpeting has been going pretty well, but I know that operating valves aggravates my cts, even with proper arched finger technique and I’d like to avoid invasive treatment. I’d be willing to give up right-hand involved music to avoid surgery. Tenor trombone playing had also become tough on my left hand with a practice mute, even with a Neotech brace.

I’m also a big Steven Bernstein/Sex Mob fan and have wanted a decent quality soprano trombone for many years. I haven’t been terribly impressed with reports about horns from Jupiter or the available clones, possibly from Jin Bao or other manufacturers. I was also waiting for a soprano with a proper screw down attachment between the bell and slide sections as well as a bell tuning slide, or possibly tuning in the hand slide.

So…

I recently became aware that a Carol Brass ‘slide trumpet’ (a.k.a. soprano trombone) had become available at Rich Ita’s Brass Instrument Workshop:

https://www.brassinstrumentworkshop.com ... de-trumpet
(check out for pics; Rich is great to deal with)

for $375 + $25 shipping.

This trombone has a screw down bell-handslide connection as well as tuning in the leadpipe. I wasn’t sure that the leadipe would be long enough to accommodate tuning with a practice mute, but took a chance.

It’s great!