Good Euphonium for doubling?

youraveragebonist117

Good Euphonium for doubling?

Post by youraveragebonist117 »

I'm an undergrad trombone performance major at the University of Memphis and my professor has told me that I will be needing a euphonium for euphonium lessons in the near future; so I am in the market for a decent euphonium, and was wondering what you guys may think. I'd like to try to keep it under $2000 if at all possible. Thanks in advance!

Tristan
hyperbolica

Re: Good Euphonium for doubling?

Post by hyperbolica »

You can usually get a King 2280 for around $1000. Mack Brass offers a usable 3+1 compensator under $1000. Wessex has a front valve 4v compensating euph for about $2000, which I own.
Kdanielsen

Post by Kdanielsen »

The Wessex is pretty great for the price. Its not as good as the high end horns, but its still a fully featured 3+1 compensating euph.
Kris Danielsen D.M.A.

Westfield State University and Keene State College
Lecturer of Low Brass

Principal Trombone, New England Repertory Orchestra
2nd Trombone, Glens Falls Symphony
JasonDonnelly

Post by JasonDonnelly »

You should be able to find a used Yamaha 321 (or King 2280) for around that price. Those are durable, reliable, and very solid horns that will suit all of your doubling needs. Just keep in mind that they by default come with small shank receivers.
University of Miami - BM Euphonium Performance 21'
Indiana University - MM Bass Trombone and Euphonium 24'

Courtois 551BHRA
Besson Prestige 2052S
Conn 88HSCL
Kuhnl and Hoyer Slokar Alto (Eb/Bb)

Various Greg Black mouthpieces
greenbean

Post by greenbean »

The King 2280 has a large-shank receiver.
Tom in San Francisco
Currently playing...
Bach Corp 16M
Many French horns
Carolus

Post by Carolus »

I would second the suggestion to go the Wessex route. I've been doubling on one for the past 5 years and have had no issues with the horn. Also Wessex customer service is top notch in my experience.