Low Brass "Doublers" Degree.

How and what to teach and learn.
MKtuba

Low Brass "Doublers" Degree.

Post by MKtuba »

(Cross post from Tubenet)

Though I am still a sophomore in my undergrad, I have begun the process of beginning to compile a list of potential schools to begin my graduate work at. I know people will tell me not to worry about it, and "I still have time" but I am just a meticulous planner by nature, and would like to have the foundation of a plan laid out soon.

What I am looking for are universities that offer some sort of "Low Brass Doublers" degree. I have heard people talk about this, and my university offers a "Multiple Woodwinds" degree, so I am certain that something like this must exist for us low brass players. I am particularly looking for a place that I can study Euphonium, Tenor, and Bass trombone in addition to Tuba which is my primary instrument. It would be a HUGE plus if the university offered an assistantship for this position.

Because of me adding a double major in Psychology, as well as doing my first two semesters as a Music Ed major before switching to performance, I will take about 5 1/2 years (11 semesters) to finish up my undergraduate work, though with full time summer semesters I could totally shorten that down by at least 2 regular semesters. The point is, It will probably be the fall of 26 or 27 that I would be entering this degree.

Another option I am considering is doing a double masters in euphonium and bass trombone, or maybe tuba and bass trombone though I am not sure what the best way to do this would be. Again, I would prefer a full assistantship.

If anyone has any advice, or could weigh in on schools with programs like this I would appreciate the advice.
Matt K
Verified

Re: Low Brass "Doublers" Degree.

Post by Matt K »