Needless complexity or not?

How and what to teach and learn.
PosauneCat

Needless complexity or not?

Post by PosauneCat »

I posted this as part another thread but it veered so far off the path I think it deserves its own post:

I’ve probably explained my situation ad nauseum now, but in the interest of clarity and context here’s the nutshell version: I started playing at about 14, went to a good conservatory for undergrad school for performance and lit, grad school for other pursuits in music, got out, played professionally for a while in Boston and NYC, then ultimately stopped playing to follow other paths in music. 25 years later, here I am, just trying to pick it up again for fun.

It used to be easy, now it’s really hard. No doubt my facial structure has probably changed to a degree and the musculature has to be developed all over again. To make things even more difficult, there’s an incredible glut of information out there, much if it conflicting, much of it just wrong, much of it so complex you need a degree in human physiology to grasp it, and some that’s practical and really good. Back in my day (how’s that for old man talk?) Remington said TAH was all you needed and John Coffey said “just tongue and blow, kid!” (OK, that’s an over simplification, but not by much). Now things have gotten extremely complex and highly analytical, and occasionally pseudoscientific which is really hard to take. I liked the old days better (only in regard to the bone, generally things are better now). I was too young and stupid to know how hard it was! Plus, there are myriad things that happen each second you play, much of which are conscious and readily controllable, some of which are reflex and mostly unconscious, some are so deeply buried in physiological function as to be essentially invisible to analysis.