Getting back into tenor

How and what to teach and learn.
JCBone

Getting back into tenor

Post by JCBone »

I recently started practicing on tenor again after a very long time away and the transition wasn't nearly as smooth as I would have expected. My tone just didn't sound right and my technique also suffered. Does anybody have any experience with this and tios on how to overcome it?
Vegasbound

Re: Getting back into tenor

Post by Vegasbound »

Have a lesson or two, and be patient and practice
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

Have the right equipment, and approach each one the same way so that the equipment is the limiting factor, not you. Paradoxically, this approach means that each horn will sound distinct and appropriate.

Tenor/Bass/Alto just aren't that different from one another, except in the mouthpiece. And it is oh so easy to go wrong in the tenor mouthpiece department. And a million times easier to go wrong in the alto mouthpiece department.
hyperbolica

Post by hyperbolica »

I go through this reset from time to time. The air and chops are different. More focused air, and you don't have to blow as much. The difference in the amount of air can be surprising especially with smaller bore tenors. Your oral cavity also needs to shift to a higher/more forward tongue and jaw. Articulations for me have been something I've had to focus on. Don't allow tenor articulation to get too slow or heavy.

Don't try to use a bass mouthpiece on tenor. Long tones, scales, intervals, lip slurs, range. Use a tuner to make sure you aren't playing flat. Work through it slowly. Listen to your sound. It will come back. Be patient. Maybe have a lesson to make sure everything is going to plan.
Burgerbob

Post by Burgerbob »

harrisonreed wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 2:31 am Have the right equipment, and approach each one the same way so that the equipment is the limiting factor, not you. Paradoxically, this approach means that each horn will sound distinct and appropriate.