How loud should I practice?

ttf_henrikbe

Post by ttf_henrikbe »

"To play loud, you need to practice loud," I read somewhere (probably on this forum). But how loud? To increase my general playing volume (that is, to getplay a decent mf and f), what would be the most efficient way to practice? As loud as I can (at the expense of tone quality), or should I rather just play slightly louder than my regular "comfort level"?

BTW I need an increased volume rather fast, as I have a performance coming up in a couple of weeks, where I've been told I need to play louder... And yes, I understand I need a lot more patience than this to build a good volume range. But that's my situation right now. So basically I'm looking for both good advice on long term volume building, as well as any possible quick fix that might improve my volume by a couple of weeks.

Also, I should mention that I'm not very experienced, and my current volume level is rather lousy (so I figured it might be possible to at least get some improvement quite quickly). And I am going to get lessons, where I'll ask my teacher for advice on this (I'm currently waiting for him to get back to me with once he has his schedule sorted out).
ttf_robcat2075

Post by ttf_robcat2075 »

control of f and ff and fff takes playing time to build; you also need to have an internal concept of what it should sound like so you can alert yourself when you are getting warmer or colder in pursuit of it. (That's true of almost any musical thing, really)

I suppose the most basic way to practice it is a slow crescendo from a volume you can produce and control up to where you can't grow it anymore. 

Not every attempt will fail at exactly the same point, so... analyze what changed in that transition from can to can't, what were you able to keep going in the attempts that went farther?

If you can identify it, you can work on carrying it farther.

P.S.