Alignment Questions

ttf_anonymous

Alignment Questions

Post by ttf_anonymous »

Hey, I was wondering if any experienced tech guys/gals and other experienced players could give me their opinion on slide alignment.

Is misalignment or bowing something that is common that will inevitably occur over time due to daly use or ONLY from mishandling and being a dope? I feel I take great care of my slides. I'm super careful (maybe excessively) and I try to make sure that my slide feels perfect every day, just so you guys know where I'm coming from. So, I feel like when a slide of mine goes out of alignment it's probably not my fault but I don't want to rule out the possibility I'm doing something wrong unknowingly. Basically what I'm asking is: what are the causes for misalignment?

Anyway, a second question I have is: Are the repairs for this type of damage only a temporary fix or are they permanent? I'm not an expert but I have heard that the metal will rebound (I'm not sure if I'm using the right terminology) after a while and go back closer to the way it was before it was repaired. Is this true?

These are probably stupid questions for a decent technician but I've always put 100% of my brain power on performing, not on any of the tech stuff. I know relatively nothing about this stuff and I don't really have any great (working) technicians near me that can help me out or let me pick their brain. As someone who is high maintenance with slides and needs the best feel out of his slides as possible I thank any insight on this subject in advanced as it would probably ease my mind a bit. (hopefully)

ttf_DaCapo

Alignment Questions

Post by ttf_DaCapo »

Good question. Image
ttf_john sandhagen

Alignment Questions

Post by ttf_john sandhagen »