Favorites Registers

ttf_savio

Favorites Registers

Post by ttf_savio »

After my miserable poll about language I give a more understandable poll which I promised earlier today. Range and register is a lot of the questions in this forum. I'm a teacher and try to avoid register questions and instead focus on social skills like communication and music as a language. However I still work for a better register in both low and high.

My favourite register is from low F to middle F.

Note....All can vote 2 times so the favourite register is at least one octave.

Leif

ttf_Russ White

Favorites Registers

Post by ttf_Russ White »

Not sure favorite is the most accurate description. Most comfortable might fit better. IF we're taking about playing rather than hearing.

ttf_savio

Favorites Registers

Post by ttf_savio »

Quote from: Russ White on Jun 09, 2016, 06:28PMNot sure favorite is the most accurate description. Most comfortable might fit better. IF we're taking about playing rather than hearing.

I prefer playing. If its listening im afraid most of us go to the extreme register.
ttf_savio

Favorites Registers

Post by ttf_savio »

There is a weakness in this question because it should be split in two. One poll for bass players and one for tenors. Could one of the moderatos split it?

ttf_tbathras

Favorites Registers

Post by ttf_tbathras »

So I took this to mean what register do I think is fun or that excites me.  That would be pedal F (really as low as pedal D) to Low Bb range.  Now - I don't want to play there all the time, but when a piece of music generally takes the bass 'bone down there, it's a pretty good piece and I just love the sound the bass trombone makes down in that range. Typically it's for one of two reasons: 1) hard-hitting pedals to really add some dramatics OR 2) chorale type stuff between low C (8vb  Image Image) and low A ( Image Image) to support the ensemble and add color.