Tenor intonation and bass doubling

ttf_hyperbolica

Post by ttf_hyperbolica »

I took 10 years off, then started playing again about 3.5 years ago. I'm a tenor player. When I started back, I switched to Elliott mouthpieces with 104 rims for small, medium and large bore horns. I noticed that I had to pull the tuning slide about 2 - 2.5 inches on all horns.

Last year I started playing bass using a DE 108 rim. Now my other horns are about 40 cents sharp, which is no longer tunable (3-4 inches). The othwr part of the problem is that I"m not making stellar progress as a bass player.

I don't think the intonation is a hardware problem because it affects multiple horns.

Is it possible that practicing bass is making my tenor chops play that sharp? Is there something short of selling my bass I can do to recover my tenor chops? Any idea what else it might be?
ttf_vegasbound

Post by ttf_vegasbound »

Go have a lesson with a good trombone teacher!
ttf_ntap

Post by ttf_ntap »

Regular lessons with someone will help - I know Doug is in VA/DC, maybe it's worth it to visit him a few times a month for a while.

From my experience and the advice of folks I respect who I have asked of this, being in tune means constant adjustment - no one is ever just "in tune" all the time. The best players are alway listening for where they are.  I have always found intonation to be directly related to listening and how I'm hearing the group.  Can I hear the bass?  Am I out of tune with a sax player - is he/she in tune with the bass?

When you're out of tune, are you noticing it in an ensemble setting or when you're practicing on your own?  Do you play with drones on each horn?  I put on a tanpura drone and will switch from horn to horn playing the same scale.  It really shows where my tendencies are on each horn.  
ttf_hyperbolica

Quote from: vegasbound on Apr 16, 2017, 01:04PMGo have a lesson with a good trombone teacher!