Jave update

Post Reply
ttf_Whitbey
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:59 am

Jave update

Post by ttf_Whitbey » Sun Mar 26, 2017 2:57 pm

Java just forced an update on me. Would not run until I did. I have a check scanner from the bank that uses java. I use Firefox and Windows 10. Now when I get to the window trying to use Java in both Firefox and Edge it gives me a download Java window. The link in both Firefox and Edge is the same. Only the word referring to what browser changes.

Any idea what happened?

https://java.com/en/download/win10.jsp
ttf_Matt K
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:53 am

Jave update

Post by ttf_Matt K » Sun Mar 26, 2017 3:21 pm

Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling Java?

If so, what does this test tell you:

https://java.com/en/download/help/testvm.xml


I'd also try in Chrome. It has a built in Java engine so you don't have to worry about installing a separate version.
ttf_Whitbey
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:59 am

Jave update

Post by ttf_Whitbey » Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:55 pm

Quote from: Matt K on Mar 26, 2017, 03:21PMHave you tried uninstalling and reinstalling Java?

If so, what does this test tell you:

https://java.com/en/download/help/testvm.xml


I'd also try in Chrome. It has a built in Java engine so you don't have to worry about installing a separate version.

Yup. It says version 8. I did an uninstall / reinstall when the first one failed. Chrome fails for my real estate software. 
ttf_SilverBone
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:59 am

Jave update

Post by ttf_SilverBone » Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:28 pm

Sometimes after an update, the system seems to lose track of where Java is installed.  The fix is to add this line to the system environment:

JAVA_HOME=c:\program files\java\jre8

Change the drive letter and the path as appropriate for your machine.
ttf_SilverBone
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:59 am

Jave update

Post by ttf_SilverBone » Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:32 pm

If the paths are set up correctly, then you should be able to open a DOS box, type

    java -version

and get a reasonable response.  My system says "java version 1.8.0_121" now.  That is the current latest version.
ttf_Whitbey
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:59 am

Jave update

Post by ttf_Whitbey » Tue Mar 28, 2017 6:57 am

Quote from: SilverBone on Mar 27, 2017, 04:32PMIf the paths are set up correctly, then you should be able to open a DOS box, type

    java -version

and get a reasonable response.  My system says "java version 1.8.0_121" now.  That is the current latest version.

Can do.

Drove to the bank yesterday to deposit said check. When I mentioned Java to the tellers it lit up the room. Seems all the bank is having trouble with the software. I guess my machine is just fine.
ttf_SilverBone
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:59 am

Jave update

Post by ttf_SilverBone » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:04 pm

Go to the Java Control Panel (in the start menu, under Java, Configure Java).

Click the Security Tab.

Make sure "Enable Java content in browser" is checked.  Use "High" security.
ttf_SilverBone
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2018 11:59 am

Jave update

Post by ttf_SilverBone » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:04 pm

Go to the Java Control Panel (in the start menu, under Java, Configure Java).

Click the Security Tab.

Make sure "Enable Java content in browser" is checked.  Use "High" security.
Post Reply

Return to “Technology”