Brassark CV mouthpiece

ttf_bigbassbone1

Brassark CV mouthpiece

Post by ttf_bigbassbone1 »

Hi all,
Just wondering if there are any players on here using the brassark CV mouthpiece and what their thoughts on it are?

I bought one here off the forum a few months ago on spur of the moment. When I first tried it I loved it! I have been playing a Laskey 93D for several years before the CV, and found on the CV the high register is so much easier, articulations are clearer, and it seems a lot less work to achieve extremes of loud or soft dynamics.

However, I keep coming back to my laskey. Usually after some time of getting adjusted to the CV I pop my laskey back in, and pretty much consistently find that even though it is genrally more work to play, there is a richness to the sound quality that I just miss in the CV... i cant put my finger on it, but its dramatic enough that I still havent moved "full time" to the CV.
The Low register I also find is superior on my laskey, and for some reason the only technical feature easier on the Laskey than my CV seems to be slurs (in any context).

I cant bring myself to sell the CV just yet, as there is so much that I like about it, but was wondering how others were finding it? Hoping for some insightful discussion.
ttf_mr.deacon

Brassark CV mouthpiece

Post by ttf_mr.deacon »

Which blank is your CV mouthpiece?
ttf_bigbassbone1

Brassark CV mouthpiece

Quote from: mr.deacon on Jan 31, 2018, 08:28PMWhich blank is your CV mouthpiece?

I didnt know you could get them in different blanks.... but i guess light?
ttf_mr.deacon

Brassark CV mouthpiece

Post by ttf_mr.deacon »

Yeah check out Noah's website. There is a light blank aka the "Mercury blank" and like a regular weight blank.

The Mercury blank is quite a bit lighter then the regular blank.