Tricks for locating Wedge mouthpieces correctly?

ttf_Bleek

Post by ttf_Bleek »

Hi all. I was wanting to see if any of the Wedge mouthpiece users have come up with good solutions to perfectly line up their mouthpieces with their embouchure?
I play Wedge rims on Doug Elliott setups and a Wedge 1 1/2. At the moment I mark the shank with a black texta and line it up with a line I then put on the shank or  leadpipe top. It works really well but has to be constantly redone as it scrapes off after a while.
Anyone come up with a better solution?
ttf_Ellrod

Post by ttf_Ellrod »

There should be a dot etched into the side of the rim. The dot should be at 6:00 (ie down) when you're playing.
ttf_Bleek

Post by ttf_Bleek »

Yes I understand that. I’ve been playing them for about 6 months.
I am talking about on gigs when there is no mirror around to check, about putting the mouthpiece in the instrument so that it lines up perfectly with your nose/chin. Because in the horn it’s an odd angle.
ttf_fsung

Post by ttf_fsung »

I've never had a problem orienting the mouthpiece properly strictly by feel.

(But maybe that's because I'm Chinese.)  Image  Image Image

ttf_Andrew Meronek

Post by ttf_Andrew Meronek »

For me, the mouthpiece allows a bit of variance on the alignment just fine. One thing to keep in mind is that the best position for Wedges may not be vertical, depending on the person, but may be a bit offset in one direction or the other.
ttf_Matt K

Post by ttf_Matt K »

WHen I was trying the wedge rims on Doug's cups, I used teflon tape to keep them in place. That includes the threads for the cup and shank as well as a little on the end of the shank itself to keep it inpalce. Also the threads on the leadpipe too. Just not too much or else its hard to get off (and on!)
ttf_KingMan

Post by ttf_KingMan »