Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

ttf_trejp

Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

Post by ttf_trejp »

Hi everyone,

I play the bass trombone, a Conn 62H but recently I have been enjoying playing tenor trombone in a big band/jazz setting. I still have my old Yamaha YSL 354 that I started learning on, but I'm wondering whether a Pbone might be better than this to learn to play jazz/improvise on? I'm not too clued up on different brands/models of trombones (my music school sourced my instruments and sold them to me) so I apologise if this is a stupid question.
ttf_JohnL

Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

Post by ttf_JohnL »

I think I speak for almost everyone here when I say:
"Go with the Yamaha."
ttf_Baker

Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

Post by ttf_Baker »

354 forever  Image
ttf_BGuttman

Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

Post by ttf_BGuttman »

The pBone is a novelty.  A good brass trombone is to be preferred.  In fact, the Yamaha 354 is good enough for a pro to play.
ttf_Doug Elliott

Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

Post by ttf_Doug Elliott »

People are still actively using Bachs, Conns, Kings, etc. from 100 years ago, and they are still in demand.
I still occasionally use a YSL354 that's probably at least 30 years old.

How long do you think a pBone will last?
ttf_Full Pedal Trombonist

Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

Post by ttf_Full Pedal Trombonist »

I have a newer 354 and I could easily get rid of all my smallbores and use it for my needs. With how well it’s held up and how well they hold up to marching band and kids starting out I say the merits for the Yamaha almost make it a given to choose over most any budget horn.
ttf_JohnL

Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

Post by ttf_JohnL »

Quote from: Doug Elliott on Dec 06, 2017, 10:05AMHow long do you think a pBone will last?
I expect most of them will last quite a while. After all, they're not being used... Image
ttf_davdud101

Pbone vs Yamaha YSL 354

Post by ttf_davdud101 »