Help with finding a new trombone

ttf_playingstudentfor7years

Post by ttf_playingstudentfor7years »

I've been playing a student trombone for about seven years now and I've decided that it's about time for an upgrade (actually I decided that a long time ago). But I'm having quite a bit of trouble finding the right instrument. I would prefer to have a bore larger than .500 (preferably .547), a bell that's not yellow brass, and I am reluctant to have an F attachment. Although there are many trombones that fit this description, few are within my price range. Any suggestions as to a specific instrument or a good place to find a used one?
ttf_anonymous

Post by ttf_anonymous »

Dillions has a ton of used instruments.
ttf_Matt K

Post by ttf_Matt K »

What is your price range? Used market is probably your best guess. If you can't spend more than say $400 on a horn, I'd be patient.  You can blow all of that on a cheap trombone-shaped-object when for a little more (or with a little waiting for something used in that price range) you can get a good used horn or a fairly high quality Chinese horn like JP Rath or Wessex.

Also, a larger horn isn't necessarily an upgrade.  What kind of playing do you do? What are your aspirations on trombone? What styles do you want to play in the long run? Why are you reluctant about F attachments?  Why do you think you want something that isn't yellow brass? The more details you provide, the better we can help you to figure out your options.
ttf_JimClendenin

Post by ttf_JimClendenin »

I recently found a King 4B of dubious vintage. It's either from 1976 or 2000...
Rose brass bell, nickle silver slide. Nice fast slide. Very responsive.
I had not been a big bore fan before I tried this horn. Bach 42, Conn 88, Yamaha Xeno .547, all seemed dull, lifeless.
This one was used, $700, one dent in the bell about 1/3 way back from the flare.
I'm very pleasantly surprised and I'm really enjoying the horn.
ttf_bonesmarsh

Post by ttf_bonesmarsh »