AMT P808 Clip-On Mic with Q7 Mini Wireless System - Review

ttf_Ian McDougall Wannabe

Post by ttf_Ian McDougall Wannabe »

Hi everyone! I haven't posted in a while, as life became fairly hectic (gigs, tours, recordings, teaching, etc.). I'd like to share with you my impressions of a pretty innovative piece of equipment that I've recently added to the gig rig: the AMT P808 clip-on mic, plus the Q7 Mini wireless system.

A little background: I make my living as a freelance trombonist, and I often play with groups that require the use of a wireless clip-on mic. In the past 10 years, I've had the chance to try out just about every type of wireless horn mic system on the market, including the most popular Shure and Samson systems. Until recently, the Shure GLXD14 system had been my workhorse for about 4 years, but due to mid-gig mic failure combined with Shure's extremely expensive out-of-warranty repair rates, I had to look into a complete replacement. A trumpet-playing colleague put me in touch with Ron Oswansky at Applied Microphone Technology in New Jersey, and he helped me get set up with this new system. www.appliedmicrophone.com

First, an overview. ***I tried to attach pics to this post, but for some reason it tells me 'the uploads directory is not writable'. 'lil help? thanks!

(1A - P808 horn mic
1B - Q7 Mini transmitter
1C - BP45 Preamp (for wired use)
1D - Opt. mini-xlr cable
2 - Q7 Mini receiver

The third picture is of the AMT unit mounted on my gig rig.)