Making a super-bone?

Bloo

Making a super-bone?

Post by Bloo »

I'll start with this: I have little experience soldering.

My school has a Bach Valve Trombone, but the part on the slide that goes into the bell section is snapped off. The school was trashing it, so I took it. Repair on the receiver (is that what I would call it?) would be pretty cheap or easy to DIY.

However, I've got an extra slide from a Blessing bone that fits the Bach bell perfectly. How difficult would it be to cut out a portion of the bell's tubing and insert the valve block? Having a Super-Bone would be way past cool.
I'm partial to vintage Conn horns, and new Getzens.
BGuttman

Re: Making a super-bone?

Post by BGuttman »

This is not a job for the faint of heart (or an untrained newcomer).

The tenon replacement is pretty straightforward, but fitting a slide to the valve section will be a challenge. Also, to keep the pitch you will need to modify the slide to be shorter. I believe the Superbone only has 6 positions. Modifying the slide means a lot of cutting and soldering.

My best suggestion: repair the tenon with a new part, and have slide and valve units that plug in.

Maybe one of our resident techs can be more explicit.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
harrisonreed

Post by harrisonreed »

But, it can have more positions if you're really ingenious. The Firebird/Phoenix trumpet that Maynard had was a "Soopuh-Trumpet", and when it was for sale, it only had 4 positions. But Maynard's was special. The inner slide tubes were actually two pieces that telescoped past 4th. So, even though the outer slide was only long enough for 4 positions, you could keep going past where the outer slide should fall off, and get 7 full positions.