Best Trombone/Music Scores Shops Japan?

lobonemike

Best Trombone/Music Scores Shops Japan?

Post by lobonemike »

I will be traveling to Tokyo and Hamamatsu (Town of the Yamaha Factory) next month. Could I please get some suggestions as to which music stores to check out while I'm in the two cities? I am particularly interested in brass sheet music, second hand trombones, parts and mouthpieces.

Thank you!
“Music produces a kind of pleasure which human nature cannot do without.” ― Confucius
Neo Bri

Re: Best Trombone/Music Scores Shops Japan?

Post by Neo Bri »

Best of luck in your travels. I can't help you, but when I was there it was a truly amazing place to be. And the food...so gooooooood.
sirisobhakya

Post by sirisobhakya »

You can visit Yamaha store for mouthpieces. They sell everything, not only their pieces. Parts of Yamaha trombone can also be ordered from the store as well. I have no experience in ordering parts of other makes, but Yamaha should also be able to do that for you as well. Secondhand trombone is a bit more difficult. You have to look for independent music store, and quite a large one of that. Still, there is a good chance that they don’t have many horns for you to choose from. Shops don’t like to accept used wind instruments. On the auction sites like Yahoo auction though there is a constant streams of used horns, some good and some just pure scam. But it can be difficult, if not outright impossible, for a foreigner without permanent address to bid. You also cannot test-drive the horn and must judge only by looking.

Yamaha shop at Ginza is a large one if not the largest in Tokyo. You can walk there in 15 minutes from either Ginza station (metro) or Shimbashi station.
Last edited by sirisobhakya on Mon Jun 25, 2018 7:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Chaichan Wiriyaswat
Bangkok, Thailand
“Why did I buy so many horns when I only have one mouth…?”
Arrowhead

Post by Arrowhead »