trouble with the contrabass register

How and what to teach and learn.
brtnats

trouble with the contrabass register

Post by brtnats »

Hi everyone,

I think I know the answer here, but I'd like some guidance from folks who have worked through the issue.

I've been playing bass trombone for around 11 years (tenor for 20+), but I've only really gotten serious about it in the last 2 years. There is currently a point where my range just completely fizzles out. I have a very strong and centered pedal F, 16vb :bassclef: :line4: , E, and a good Eb. But then pedal D is quiet and fuzzy, and I can barely make the note speak. Db, C, and B are almost non existent. And then I can play a very good double pedal Bb in second position. I can gliss downward from pedal F, but around that pedal D the notes just stop really SPEAKING. Since taking up bass trombone, my range down to pedal E has strengthened and solidified to the point where they're just regular notes for me. Is that going to happen with the D downward with continued practice, or should I be exploring more options than patient long tones?
BGuttman

Re: trouble with the contrabass register

Post by BGuttman »

Paul Faulisse talks about an embouchure shift down around pedal D. You also can try dropping your jaw just a little.

Incidentally, the Faulisse method has some exercises down there that may help.

Good luck. My pedal D and pedal C are notes that I have to play bass for a while to hit.
Bruce Guttman
Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra
"Almost Professional"
Doug Elliott

Post by Doug Elliott »

The answer is a combination of spending a lot of time in that range (the Phil Teele method), being sufficiently warmed up for that range to work, and (mostly) discovering and using the particular mechanical techniques that your embouchures requires, to not only "get the notes" but to have them be a connected extension of the rest of your range so you don't have to shift. That is exactly what I teach privately and by Skype.