Finished Rochut, what's next?

How and what to teach and learn.
JLivi

Finished Rochut, what's next?

Post by JLivi »

I've been teaching privately for almost 10 years now, and for the first time I have a student that has gone through all of my worksheets (scales, patterns, lip slurs, range, modes, chromatic exercises) and he is really close to finishing the Rochut book. I've thought to start the Rochut book over again, but when went back to old etudes he pretty much remembers everything.

I feel he benefits more from working on etudes rather than technical patterns. So I'm trying to stay away from Brad Edwards Lip Slurs or Clarke Studies. We work on them, I just don't want to focus on them for an entire lesson, and make that the only thing I assign. We aren't in a financial position to be buying multiple books anyway.

My mind is going blank on what else is out there. There's got to be something. Something similar to Rochut's, but slightly different. Would it make sense to just get the 2nd Rochut book? I've never played out of that one. Is it good?

I also have the Tyrell Advanced Studies book and Selected Studies, but I don't really feel like working out of those. Any other ideas?

Thanks!
King 2b+
King 3b
King 3b(f)
Conn 79h
Kanstul 1585
Olds O-21 Marching Trombone (Flugabone)
pompatus

Re: Finished Rochut, what's next?

Post by pompatus »

Clef studies? How old is the student?
norbie2018

Post by norbie2018 »

If it is legato phrasing you're looking to further explore, why not have him work the Cimera Phrasing Studies? They are short enough that you can play them complete as written, in tenor clef up and down the octave, and an octave above in one sitting. Cimera also wrote another book or two with more technical etudes.
hyperbolica

Post by hyperbolica »

There are 3 rochut books plus a couple with duets.
Bach5G

Post by Bach5G »

Encore publishes all 3 Rochut/Bordogni in one volume, with some tenor and, I think, alto clef, together with commentary.